newest entry

Morgan's Musings

Monday, Nov. 25th, 2002 - 8:46 PM

What I did with my weekend...

Friday: Caroline Rhea is the funniest Canadian Since that guy on "Due South"

I quietly woke up (to let Andypants sleep) and went to the Dining Hall's breakfast, eating everything chock full of sugar I could find--from blueberry pancakes smothered in syrup, to sticky buns, to doughnuts, apple juice--the sugar-high was endless. I then prepared to go home, gathering stuff up and taking it down to the car. As I picked up a heavy clothes hamper, Jackie walked by. I apologized a third time, but she said nothing at all. *Sigh*...you can please some of the people some of the time, but not all of the people all of the time--except in High School--everyone loved me in High School...even people who at first glance seem like they would dislike me, like say Aly, they truly did. Teachers too, even Mrs. Wilcox (I think she thought I was loveably dumb (with biology anyhoo))! I will not go as far as to say Mr. Jacobsen, as he didn't know me all that well, and when we did encounter, I think he was pretty much neutral. So as you can see, it really irks me when people who I like and under the proper circumstances should like me, don't like me. Okay, let's get off that tangent!

As we drove back to town, I saw a small steam-shovel--well, it wasn't a steam shovel, as most of them are diesel-fueled these days, but it was a digger of sorts, really small, and perched on the sharp grade of an embankment on the other side of the highway. I feared that one false swing of the boom or if the treads lost their traction, the little man within his little machine would topple onto its side on the northbound-side of the highway, perhaps even a huge 18-wheeler barreling down the slow lane right at him. He must really love his work.

I had an orthodontist appointment today. We arrived an hour late, just as they were slowing down for the day, so they couldn't accept me and do the braces removal I had come for. We rescheduled for December. I felt like a prison inmate thate had failed to impress the parole board--what was another month after 5 years? Besides, an oral life behind metal bars & brackets were all I knew at this point.

I relaxed at home for the first time in a while. It wasn't too messy, but it wasn't too clean, but I paid the state of the house little mind as I sat back and relaxed, watching "Good Day Live" and the first 15 minutes or so of the "Caroline Rhea Show". The Canadian-born, Melissa Joan Hart co-star cracked some funny jokes and was in a tizzy that Neil Diamond was on the next show. Afterwards, I sorted and washed clothes and playtested my sister's Christmas gift, the original Parappa the Rapper, which I had bought off of eBay.

Sister soon came back after I hid the gift. She proceeded to tell me about her day in the ranting fashion she usually does, but she also had some good stories about the inner world of my alma mata. One was about a guy in her Computer design class that everyone calls "Dolphin Boy", possibly due to his brown-nosing nature. Apparently, he is so good at this, the teacher allows him to get up and leave class/return wheneever he pleases, while everyone else has to ask; fewer even get to go. He is always the first to butt-in to conversations and do anything for the teacher. Dolphin Boy is obsessed with some girl to the point where the guidance counselors threatened him with a restraining order! Whatever happened to "(Dolphin :) )Boys will be boys, girls will be girls"? That school has gone to pot. She also told me of a humorous time where her bus almost flipped over as the right side wheels went over a perilously steep incline while the left side stayed at street level. "'We're gonna die!!!'" Sister immitated a fellow bus rider. The bus leveled itself without incident. The remainder of the day was without incident.

Saturday: Kelly Blue Book

I struggled to wake up this morning, as I was recovering from the early rise/late bedtime of Friday. My television timer went off to NBC, Discovery Kids doing its dicovery-thing. I wanted the Disney channel! Man! I got dressed and decided today would be a good day to go to the DMV and take the driving test, before they closed at noon. Dad and I drove down a foilage-lined road, brilliant oranges and reds everywhere as we passed Aly's neighborhood. We we arrived, the place was much busier than it was when I last went, and we stood in a notable line. When I finally got to the receptionist, I declared my intentions. "Do you have the book?" she asked--the bright yellow one with driving time logged in it, unknown to me to be a prerequisite. I had forgotten that, not that it was filled out with 40 hours of practice time anyway. Dad began to complain and curse about going all the way out here for this for nothing (not like he was going to do anything with the time) as I drove back. "And stay off the shoulder!" he added, fearing I'd ram the curb. As I pulled into the driveway, he told me this: "You're not ready,"

"What!?!" I rebuffed. "I've been driving [like this] for a year!!! Of course I'm ready!!!"

When we got out the automobile, he said he wished to change a tire. I used a wrench to unbolt lugnuts, (the old tire rolled away down the driveway; more complaining:"What if you were on a highway?!?") then plopped on the new rubber doughnut, retightening the nuts in a star pattern to keep them taught. As we finished up, our neighbor, Mr. Givens came by with his new dog Bailey. We chatted, something Dad only does on occasion, and we talked obout our car--namely how the dealership had done a ton of unauthorized repairs worth more than the vehicle's Kelley Blue Book value. As Bailey tugged at her leash & whimpered, Mr. Givens had to go. Dad and I just automatically began to rake leaves. I enjoy raking leaves--something about making huge piles, then watching them dissapear into little plastic bags. I did this for a while before driving with Dad to pick up Sister from the counseling center. I don't know why she goes (if it's woman problems, teen problems, general problems, or both), but she does, and she doesn't say much about it, except occasionally bragging about its location in a shopping center containing an H&R Block.

We then drove to Best Buy, as Sister picked up another Christina Aguilera CD, Dad debated DVD choices and I saw games I'd like to get later. As we oogled flat screen TV's, guess who should come by? Kelly! Her and her father, a grey-haired man with a mustache, came in just for a telephone, but like the other patrons were pulled into the grasp of the flat, shimmering silver screens. Mr. Pennington and my Dad chatted as Kelly and I talked a bit, I looking at her gorgeous, curly pumpkin-orange locks. I asked about her sister Kim (you remember Kim, old friends, right!), and she told me about her recent visit to the campus (D'oh! I missed her!). They soon had to go, as they didn't wanna miss a Florida State football game coming up. They bought a V-Tech phone.

I didn't do much that evening and night except surf the net.

Sunday: Judy From "Family Matters"

Technically, it was Sunday proper, at 12:45 AM, but as far as I was concerned it was still Saturday night as I found a fansite of the "Family Matters" show--it finally answered my questions! For example, Fredberry6 and I once had a conversation back in High School about whatever happened to the Judy character from the show--she slowly was written out without explanation. The site told me here.

After discovering that mystery, I proceeded to take a relaxing bath around 1 AM. Soaking in gentle, warm water, I scrubbed my skin with soap, getting the grease off my face, then the dessicated deodorant deposited under my arms; next my torso, squeezing rivers of warmth from my washcloth dowm my back. Later, the soft hair further down and its complimentary package underneath, and first one leg, then the other, got a well-deserved & appreciated cleansing. I washed my hair at the finale, dried off and cleaned off the brown ring (it looked like something that Friday's digger had dug through) around the tub before I went to sleep.

When I woke up, Sister was watching VH1, particularly a show that chronicled and compared the history of bubblegum pop music of today with the bands of the 60's to the early 90's. One tale that was memorable was that of the DeFrancos, a group of Canadian siblings who went Hollywood when they became a hit in the '70's. But their fame was fleeting as the media center on the youngest--the rest of the family took umbrage, and it wasn't long before this family dischord ruined their harmony and they were back on a bus to Toronto. Another was that of a group from Rhode Island that the Partridge Family was based on. After the latter group became famous, the forerunners, managed by their father (despite his 7th grade education), ended up spending $36 Million (all their earnings) in 6 year's time. The mother left (to end up in a mental ward), the kids dispersed, and the father died penniless in Mexico in 1992. It was such a pitiful ending to a life that Sister began to crack up, and I almost joined in! "It's not funny," my mother snapped. "It could hap--pen-- to--you...!" she squeezed out before she began to chuckle too!

I raked more leaves before I got ready to go. I drove back with Dad, and as the highway signs began to zip by, I felt disoriented for a bit, yet Dad gave no directions, stating "I won't be in this car all the time.". This wouldn't have been an issue, except for the fact that my dorm was having a mandatory meeting at 10:30! I ended up taking a roundabout route, constantly making u-turns until I was on a certain avenue chock full of landmarks, like a McDonald's, Lipton tea facility and a Giant. If I hadn't gone on my pilgrimage, the LaRouche HQ, or out with my next door neighbor, I would never have known about those locations and would have been throughly lost.

I got to the meeting 20 minutes late, and had to fill out a mandatory survery of sorts. Let me finish that now--see you later!

*********Special Report*********

NEWS

Hello, and this is the news. The poll results are in--apparently there was a 3-way tie with 2 votes each as you can see here. Justin's comment was "Oh well, that's democracy for you," and "I may put this to a re-vote...threats of a Diaryland regime change do not scare me!!!" It is believed that the status quo may prevail, as such a deadlock and lack of democratic participation shows that everyone "'hearts' Andypants". That is all; goodnight.

Next time--My Art History Project!!!

Previous -*- Next -*- Top Floor -*- Ring-a-Ding-ding Rings

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


[Blue Ribbon Campaign icon] Join the Blue Ribbon Online Free Speech Campaign!