newest entry

Morgan's Musings

Wednesday, Oct. 09, 2002 - 9:29 PM

Good day, good friends. Today was a simply excellent day. The morning started out a bit slow--I read other people's diaryland diaries for a bit.

Then my neighbor to the right of me, Corie, stopped by to say hello, and let me view some of her amazing artworks. I believe I have mentioned Corie before, but I haven't described her to you all.

Corie is about my height, with cute, short blonde hair. Delightful hazel eyes and a few freckles, you'll notice something right away when you first meet her--she doesn't talk much. Shy. But a friendly person such as myself can crack open a conversation in no time, and Corie will open up to you, discussing all sorts of things--how life was in her hometown of Salisbury , her favorite animae cartoons , her sketches, poems (I will share a lovely thing about thesauruses later), and more--search for "elvinflame" at www.fanfiction.net ! She is just an ineffable dynamo of creativity. Jeff Swope once said that I was the most creative person he knew. "You just create, for the sake of it," he said. Corie is the most creative person I know.

Anyway, we chatted quite a while about those subjects and more, and looked at each others artworks--her sketches in her biology notebook, my comics in my high school newspaper. We enjoyed each others excellent work. I invited her to take the shuttlebus with me to a nearby Giant after my class.

My First-year seminar, Sense of Place, was average today, with the exception of a malfunctioning powerpoint presentation. After class, I walked with Katie and Heather. I don't believe you've had the pleasure of meeting Heather--she reminds me of a shorter, liberal version of Aly with red hair. Creamy white skin, and just plain wacky personality, this crazy Calvert County chick is a pleasure to talk with. Katie coaxed me into buying a raffle ticket from a Gay advocacy group by giving me that irresistable cute/sexy look. Katie's (platonic) friend is "involved" in the group, and I bought it in hopes of winning a lotta money (and because of that look!) I learned today that Katie was in the National Honor Society in high school. Aly was too...ok, let's talk about something else now!

Corie and I went grocery shopping. On the way there, I kept asking her all sorts of questions to create & conserve a conversation. At the market, we had lots of fun, trying to find the best deals for food, looking at the humorous greeting cards, weaving the shopping cart through the wilds of the supermarket. Corie got candy apples & soy milk. I got a pack of sausage & biscuits, ginger ale, Hi-C, and ham. Just plain sliced ham. Oh yeah, fancy foreign French cheese! It was $3, but sometimes you gotta spoil yerself!

On the way back, I asked her if she had a lot of friends in Salisbury. She told me she had a few, in her soft voice. She then stated that she considered me a friend. I truly appreciated that. Sure, I was Most Friendly in high school, but the way she said it, it felt like a genuine statement. It made my day.

We came back, tossed the frozen foods in our fridges, and shortly proceeded to the dining hall for dinner. We sat together. We both had the steak. We had a lively conversation. She was a charming delight. I asked her if she could eat dinner with anybody in the world from anytime, who would it be. "Tolkein," she decided without second thought. "Or, Einstein."

"I'd like to either eat dinner with My Grandma Robinson, who passed away, or my friend Aly, who went to William & Mary." I responded.

We went back to the dorms afterward. Corie has a problem with her internet, and I and a friend tried to ameliorate it, to no avail. Then I watched a new WB show, "Birds of Prey". It did not get my undivided attention, cause I was doing this at the time. Hmmm. Oh well, if it was really good, it would have grabbed my attention and ran 25 miles with it!

Anyway, today was a good day. Anyday you make a new friend is a good day! (And anyday Katie gives me that look is a GREAT day! :) ) Corie & I had so much fun!

Next time--IM fad, Work flashbacks

P.S.: I just saw the commercial for the movie The Transporter

I dedicate this page in memoriam of Mr. Klocko

Previous -*- Next -*- Top Floor -*- Ring-a-Ding-ding Rings

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


[Blue Ribbon Campaign icon] Join the Blue Ribbon Online Free Speech Campaign!