newest entry

Morgan's Musings

Monday, Oct. 14, 2002 - 10:58 AM

I've been busy (yet not busy at the same time), so I'll wrap up my weekend in three easy to chew segments:

Friday:Up to the Tenth Floor & Down to the Basement

Friday I went to Student Services to get some errands run. I got an unofficial transcript for my art portfolio & confirmation for enrollment for a scholarship. While in the area, I went to visit Kelly's mother (remember Kelly?) who works in the Administration building nearby. In the elevator I just happened to run into a woman who knew Beth Pennington (what a coincidence, because I had no clue where to look! I just jumped on an elevator!); she directed me to the 9th floor. Someone there directed me to the 10th floor. When I couldn't locate her, I went back to the 9th floor, and was oriented again to the 10th floor from there.

Finally, I found her office. We had previously met briefly at graduation in May, but I had forgotten somewhat what she looked like. She was a cheerful older woman with pewter grey hair, stylish glasses, and an avuncular tone. We had a nice chat about how I enjoyed school here in general, and encouraged me to visit again. I spent more time looking for her than talking to her...

Later that day, I went to "Small Group" with my friend Nate (he works at NASA, so let's call him NASANate), I'll tell you all about what that is later. Afterward, NASANate & I went to the basement of my dorm to visit mutual friends who live there. The rooms are ramshackle & dusty, but the ceilings are much higher. We later played a pickup game of basketball in the activities center and played various games on his Playstation 2 . I then went back to my room to sleep.

Saturday:You're at home, not Homecoming? I don't get it!

It was just the start of a bad day, but its beginnings were beautiful enough. I watched some Saturday morning cartoons, discovering we do have the Disney Channel, when I thought it was scrambled. Later that morning, I watched a snipped of an interesting piece on the History Channel about the Los Angeles Police Department. I watched from the 1930's era of riverboat gambling, to the 1994 O.J. Simpson "White Bronco" chase. Then Andypants came back, after leaving for the weekend. He brought his friend Emily, who goes to Marymount University . Emily, originally from Parkville, went to the same magnet school as he did. She was tall, blonde with lovely short hair, and a bright smile. When you think the phrase "woman from Baltimore", you get that charm city connotation from Emily. Now I think Emily & Andypants were romantically involved in some way at some time, but the details are fuzzy...

They soon left for a campus tour. I soon left to go home. In the car, Mom vaguely mentioned something about someone named Kat asking for me about the homecoming dance at my old high school. (In case you didn't know, I was homecoming king last year, and it is customary for the king & queen to return & crown the new one the next year.) "Kat? Kat who?" I asked.

"She had some Indian-sounding last name," Mom muttered mysteriously. Indian-sounding name. Like "Patel" or perhaps even "Roshan" (or is that Afghani?)? I didn't know a Kat with either surname.

By the time I call Kat back, I hear a very Anglo-sounding voice on the other end--possibly Kat Schmermund ("Schmermund" is totally German! "Indian"! Agh! Get your genealogy right, Mom!!!) inquiring if I'd be able to attend tonight's event. Hearing rumors of cancellation & mis-information from my sister, I hadn't planned far ahead enough for coming. I had a million excuses, but excuses aren't worth typing. Queen Evelyn is royally peeved I'm sure...

I spent the rest of the evening at home, trying to clean up the pigsty created by 3 lazy people pursuing personal petty interests, and not doing anything for the good of the household. I also played Playstation 2 games with my sister and tossed stuffed animals at her head.

Sunday:Sunday, Cruddy Sunday

Cruddy. Slept in my clothes again. Every time I do that, it reminds me of the movie Back to the Future . After Marty comes back to 1985 from the 50's, he is tired. He falls asleep & wakes up in his clothes, his parents (altered by altered history) asking rhetorically why he did that. See the movie! It's great!

Anyway, the house is still a wreck. This hinders the progress of my sister & I as we look for the instruction manual to a computer game . Dad has become despicably slovenly, eating turkey Spam out of a can, chewing with his mouth open. Mom berates him and I for not practicing driving skills (as I still have a learner's permit!). Dad uses the excuse that "He said he didn't wanna drive,". I said that one time in the car out of frustration & indignance due to Dad's poor teaching skill and predilection for superflous yelling. At this point, she is furious at both of us, and is ready to send me back to the university. She refuses to turn around when I tell her I left the scholarship letter I got Friday at home. In an irate huff, she then says she won't come back until Thanksgiving, and leaves two ugly suitcases of winter clothes here with me.

Wait--there's more. Andypants shows me a spooky video on the internet. Afterwards, he says that everyone who sees it dies in 7 days. Then the phone rang. I picked it up. A creepy death-like voice reiterated what Andypants had said. Oh crud. Just great crud. If you excuse me, friends, I have a lotta livin' ta do! Bye!

Next time--The IM thing (whenever!), Work flashbacks, Who's NASANate, "Small Group" ?

Previous -*- Next -*- Top Floor -*- Ring-a-Ding-ding Rings

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


[Blue Ribbon Campaign icon] Join the Blue Ribbon Online Free Speech Campaign!