newest entry

Morgan's Musings

Monday, Oct. 07, 2002 - 9:06 PM

Today, I'd like to tell you more about dear Aly Dubya, friends--not just for my new friends who just flew in & are new to "The Justin Experience" here, but for my old friends as well, who wish to know more details or "just don't get it".

Aly. Where to begin? Why not at the beginning, when we first met, way back in middle school. I had known of her, but we didn't officially meet until the last months of the 8th grade schoolyear. We were good acquaintances, friends later even. I enjoyed her persona and enjoyed the lively conversations we had on occasion. I even based a character on her in a comic series I had recently begun.

Then, a couple of weeks before Christmas in 2000, I was in some department store somewhere, buying gifts for my friends & family, thinking about what they'd like, and who in particular I should get things for. I persistantly kept thinking about Aly. Strong feelings of joy and warmth flooded into my heart when I thought about her. I usually don't feel like this about any old girl; this was something rather different. I agreed that I should share how I feel & see where it leads ("Hopefully just one date," I thought). Hey, we both needed a bit more excitement in our lives.

But, how to do it? Come right out and say it? No. Where's the style, the romance? I said I would buy her a lovely Valentine's Day Flower (at $1, such a minor investment could have a "lucrative" return...and I'm talkin' bout things money can't buy friends!)! Attached was a lovely poem about her being the "tip of the top", the "cream of the crop" among all the lovely, luscious ladies at our high school. She loved it when she got it. Aly was overjoyed, so filled with glee at the fact that someone was thoughtful enough to create and give something so lovely just for her! She thanked me with a heartfelt hug, and we shared chocolate candy as we watched "Destinos" in Mrs. Edelmann's Spanish class. It was one of the best days I ever had in high school, perhaps life.

Something odd happened the day after. I knew that things wouldn't quite be the same between us after that, but I was seriously disillusioned. The following day or so, she seemed less intrested in me, even disdainful. I verbally stated my emotional state & ask for a date, but she would always avoid answering the latter question. She would either say "I don't think it'll work out," (WHAT!?! What specifically would not "work"? More later.) or try to shake me off by saying she currently had a boyfriend. Normally, if any other woman had said that, that would be the end of it, and things would be back to normal. But I thought that it was my "manifest destiny", a dream I had to fulfill, to be with her. Apparently, the feeling was not mutual. Thus, the quagmire began!

"I'll woo her affection," I decided. I would give her beautiful gifts, write passionate letters, strive to be smooth and suave in word and deed. I did all sorts of things--write poems, visit her whenever I could, always have a compliment to say when we crossed paths, cultivated flowers from my own backyard to give to her. I'd always seize an opportunity to give a hug, and when I was just so supremely smitten, I'd steal a kiss. The first time I did, it was beautiful. Right on the lips. She blushed. The last time I did it, she dodged her head out of the striking distance of my lips (I had telegraphed it somewhat by licking my lips and making a "Mmmmm..." sound) so I just pecked her on the shoulder, just as sweet (and scented like her cotton shirt). Like a love rollercoaster (that reminds me of a song...) she would fluctuate in her admiration of me from "fair liking" (she'd be active in conversation, give a big smile) to "tolerant" (we'd be in close proximity, but she would respond little or not at all) to "adamant disliking" (where she'd go out of her way to avoid me)!

The suaveness just spread to all facets of my life Senior year. I made good friends, earned great grades; I was even nominated Most Friendly and Homecoming King at my school! I became a popular guy, a sensation that everyone liked--I had it all, the prestige, the money, the women (they adored me so... :) ) except for Aly. Few things I did impressed her. Or if they did, she wouldn't openly admit it.

The quagmire lasted into the summer. I nominated her as "Teen of the Week" for a local newspaper , a venerable honor. I have not heard from her since she went to W&M...but I do believe my family is planning a trip to Colonial Williamsburg ... :) (NO, I'm not a stalker--I prefer the term "seductor" !)

*********Today's Events*************************************

I got to install a printer, under my bed. Now I can print out diaryland entries, essays, and the like. On that note, in my seminar class (the one with Katie, remember ?), my female foreign friend from Finland and I had a conversation about how she spells her last name. First name Myelas, she is the archetype of scandanavian beauty. The child of an athletic P.E. teacher & an intelligent UN employee, she is as smart as she is lovely. Her long blonde hair falls like a golden waterfall to her busom. Blue eyes like a Lapland geyser. Skin a lovely light dun, tanned from her visits to warmer climates (being a world traveller).

Her last name was like "Ahold" or something like it, but the "A" was like " � ". The "o" had an umlaut like this:" � ". "We have 3 "A"'s," the blonde beauty said, with a slight accent. "One's "A" [she makes an "A" sound], one's an "�" [making "Oooh" sound], and one's an " � " [making an "Doouuuhhhe" sound I could not emulate, as hard as I tried; it was funny.] 3 "A"s. What a country!

Next time--IM--fad or future? & Wal-mart Work Flashbacks

♥ I love Aly. ♥

Previous -*- Next -*- Top Floor -*- Ring-a-Ding-ding Rings

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


[Blue Ribbon Campaign icon] Join the Blue Ribbon Online Free Speech Campaign!